Poem of the Week: When I Grow Up

 

080730-N-5277R-003  ATSUGI, Japan (July 30, 2008) A Commander, Naval Forces Japan firefighter douses a fire on a dummy aircraft during the annual off-station mishap drill at Naval Support Facility Kamiseya. Emergency response and rescue teams were tasked with putting out a simulated fire, and rescuing two personnel from a plane crash scene. U.S. Navy photo by Mass Communication Seaman Barry Riley (Released)

Image Credit: en.wikipedia.org

When I Grow Up

I’d like to be a fireman

And put the fires out

And ride the big red engine round the town.

Up and down!Up and down!

The big light going round and round!

And the big siren screaming.

I’d like to be a Ringmaster

And wear a coat and hat.

I’d crack my whip and just like that!

Lions and tigers at my command

Clowns and elephants under my hand

The big lights beaming out of the stand

And the big crowd screaming.

I’d like to be the daring girl

Who rides the high trapeze.

I’d swing from my toes, I’d hang from my knees

In my glorious sparkles like stars in the breeze

The big light shining so everyone sees

Me up there gleaming.
 
*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *
Leave a Reply

